COVID-19

Re-opening on June, 22nd !

Our priority is your security through these unprecedented times! Our main objective is to offer you the best experience possible in our beautiful Québec City. Each member of our team will contribute with all of its expertise to make you feel comfortable and safe.

MARIE-CATHERINE COTÉ – L’INTUITIVE

Whom is the artist from Quebec City that inspires you the most ?

It is in moments that are often peculiar and unexpected that a piece of work, in its uniqueness, makes something resonate. Recently I was touched by the bronze sculptures of Grégoire Anioclès. I also appreciated the crystalline beauty of some of Martin Beaupré’s creations, as well as the colors and volumes of the faces painted by Françoise Nielly.

What is your creative process?

It is purely intuitive. It’s like an inner movement, a sensation, an emotion that flows all the way through the fingers. It sometimes expresses itself in resonance with an encounter, a circumstance, a perception, even a sensibility that sometimes escapes me. I like abstract art because it gives free rein to this kind of expression.

 

Where is the place you go rejuvenate yourself in Quebec?

This often results in a restaurant or a cup of coffee accompanied by a pastry in a cozy cafe.   Some of my favorite coffeeshops  are the Maelstrom, St-Henri and ES Café (on the South Shore of Quebec). Gastronomy side, La Planque and Battuto are the kind of places where I like to recharge my taste buds.  Be that as it may, a simple time spent gazing at  trees swaying in the wind is often enough to recharge my batteries.

 

What is the mornign routine

I put on my gloves for my fingers that serve me as brushes and I transform a dining room bathed in sunshine into a workshop.  All accompanied by the aroma of freshly ground coffee and a musical atmospheres which varies according to my mood of the moment.   I especially like working in the morning. It has a unique and special character. I think it’s the sweetest, the most beautiful part of the day. The end of nights,  is also a moment when the mind is clear and maintains its greatest intimacy with intuition.

What “spot” would you recommend to an art lover who visit Quebec for the first time. Why?

The Place Royale and the Quartier Petit Champlain (old Quebec), for the history that emerges from its architecture, its charming streets, its art galleries, its gastronomy and its evocations of Paris.

To learn more about the artist: http://mariecatherinecote.wixsite.com/galerie

Return to list

A QUÉBEC CITY HOTEL THAT LETS YOU LIVE LIFE TO THE FULLEST

C3 Creative Space
C3 Queen
C3 1850
Business-class
C3 Suites
Superior Suite

GET THE LATEST NEWS

MARIE-CATHERINE COTÉ – L’INTUITIVE

Quel est l’artiste de la ville de Québec qui t’inspire le plus ?

C’est dans des moments souvent particuliers et inattendus qu’une œuvre, dans son unicité, fait résonner quelque chose. M’ont touchées récemment les sculptures de bronze de Grégoire Anioclès. J’ai aussi apprécié la beauté cristalline de certaines créations de Martin Beaupré, de même que les couleurs et les volumes des visages peints par Françoise Nielly.

Quel est ton processus créatif ?

Il est purement intuitif. C’est comme un mouvement intérieur, une sensation, une émotion qui s’écoule à travers les doigts. Elle s’exprime parfois en résonance avec une rencontre, une circonstance, une perception, voire une sensibilité qui m’échappe parfois. J’aime l’art abstrait parce qu’il permet de donner libre cours à ce genre d’expression.

L’endroit où tu vas pour te ressourcer à Québec?

Cela se traduit souvent par un resto ou une tasse de café accompagnée d’une pâtisserie dans un café chaleureux. Parmi mes cafés préférés, le Maelstrom, le St-Henri et le ES Café (sur la Rive-Sud de Québec). Côté gastronomie, La Planque et le Battuto sont le genre d’endroits où j’aime bien me ressourcer les papilles. Quoi qu’il en soit, un simple temps passé à contempler un arbre qui se balance au vent suffit souvent à recharger les batteries.

Quelle est ta routine pour peindre ?

J’’enfile mes gants pour mes doigts qui me servent de pinceaux et je transforme une salle à manger baignée de soleil en atelier de fortune. Le tout accompagné d’arômes de café fraichement moulu et d’ambiances musicales qui varient selon les humeurs du moment. J’aime surtout travailler le matin. Il a un cachet unique et particulier. Je trouve que c’est le moment le plus doux, le plus beau de la journée. La nuit s’achevant, c’est aussi un moment où l’esprit est clair et conserve sa plus grande intimité avec l’intuition.

Quel spot recommanderais-tu à un amoureux d’art qui visite Québec pour la première fois ? Pourquoi ?

La Place Royale et le Quartier Petit Champlain, pour l’histoire qui se dégage de ses architectures, ses rues coquettes, ses galeries d’art, sa gastronomie et ses évocations parisiennes.

Pour en savoir plus sur l’artiste : http://mariecatherinecote.wixsite.com/galerie

 

 

Retour à la liste

24 CHAMBRES D’HÔTEL À QUÉBEC POUR VIVRE LA VILLE

C3 espace Créatif
C3 Queen
C3 1850
CLASSE AFFAIRES
SUITE C3
Suite Supérieure

RESTEZ INFORMÉS